Play Into Love

I found my Unique Genius! Whoo! It was inside me all along. It bubbled out a couple weeks ago while I was going over some of Aaron’s PebbleStorm slides and writing in my journal. I noticed that Aaron’s Unique Genius is made of two parts. The first is part is something he is good at- helping people make money. The second part is something he is passionate about- making money through enjoyment. Put the two parts together, and you have his Unique Genius- helping people make money through enjoyment.

So I asked myself, “What am I good at?”  I’m good at playing. I enjoy crafts, finger painting, baking, laughing, running around, tickle fights, pillow fights…basically, playing.

Then I asked, “What am I passionate about?” I’m passionate about kids loving themselves and believing in their dreams. I want them to feel confident and know that their lives are filled with infinite possibilities.

After that I put them together and came up with my Unique Genius-

Helping kids Play Into Love with themselves, their lives, and their dreams.

It seems so simple now. Every time I look at it, read it, or think it I get a little zing in my heart. It’s like I want kids to fall in love with themselves, but that is way to passive and doesn’t sound like fun. No, I want kids to Play Into Love with themselves.

It took a lot of time and soul searching to get here, but it’s definitely worth it. I love it.

Of course, the next step is to detail how I would help kids do this. I talked a little bit with some of my favorite PebbleStormers, Paul and Hong-Anh, and they recommended that I draw something out. Put it on paper in a way that felt good to me.

I did, and it’s below.

Play Into Love Artistic outline

Play Into Love Artistic outline

Basically, I want to do a Saturday school thing with kids during the academic year- a combination of field trips, fun activities, and learning exercises. It’s a very rough idea, but it sounds like so much fun to me. I’m not sure how to make it happen, but I’m not going to dwell on that. Right now is the time for possibility and appreciation.

hugs

Erin

4 Comments

  1. Sean Patrick said,

    August 18, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Bravo! I’ve been trying to organize something along these lines for quite some time. I’ve always felt like the 12-17 age range had the most potential for dramatic growth with “love” realizations. Your outline is great, I can feel the momentum, much love and respect for tapping your Unique Genius!!

  2. August 19, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    […] Halling: Helping kids Play Into Love with themselves, their lives, and their […]

  3. Maggie said,

    August 19, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    That’s just great Erin, I loved hearing you explain it and it’s actually very clear through your drawing.
    I’m happy you found your Unique Genius:) I think your drawing will help me find my own unique genius…. eventually:) I had totally forgotten about the baby-steps.

  4. Kayte said,

    August 21, 2009 at 9:43 am

    I really heart this. This is super awesome, and very you.


Leave a Reply

